How does North Carolina define what an electric bike is?
The state of North Carolina (NC) defines an electric bike as a bicycle with a small helper motor with less than 750W and a maximum speed of 25mph on flat surfaces.
Do you need a license, insurance or registration in North Carolina?
The state of North Carolina does not allow registration of electric bikes.
What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in North Carolina?
According to the state of North Carolina, an electric bike as a bicycle with a small helper motor with less than 750W and a maximum speed of 25mph on flat surfaces.
Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in North Carolina?
Riders must be at least 16 years of age.
What are the laws around helmets in North Carolina?
Helmets are required for all riders.
What are the rules for riding on the road in North Carolina?
Electric bicycles are permitted to ride on all public highways and roadways with a posted speed limit of less than 25mph, on sidewalks, in bike lanes and on bike paths. Operators of electric bikes must yield the right-of-way to pedestrian and human-powered devices.
Every bicycle shall be equipped with a reflex mirror on the rear and both of the following when operated at night on any public street, public vehicular area, or public greenway:
- A lighted lamp on the front thereof, visible under normal atmospheric conditions from a distance of at least 300 feet in front of such bicycle.
- A lamp on the rear, exhibiting a red light visible under like conditions from a distance of at least 300 feet to the rear of such bicycle.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.