How does Ohio define what an electric bike is?
Ohio designates three classes of low-speed electric bicycles:
Class 1: An e-bike equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph.
Class 2: An e-bike equipped with a throttle-actuated motor, that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph.
Class 3 : An e-bike equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 28 mph.
Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Ohio?
E-bikes are not subject to the registration, licensing, or insurance requirements that apply to motor vehicles.
What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Ohio?
Electric bicycles are defined as vehicles with a power output no greater than 750w, and a maximum speed of 28mph.
Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Ohio?
There are no age restrictions on eBike riders in Ohio.
What are the laws around helmets in Ohio?
Riders and passengers of class 3 e-bikes are required to wear helmets.
What are the rules for riding on the road in Ohio?
E-bikes are classified as “electric bicycles.” The same rules of the road apply to both e-bikes and human-powered bicycles. E-bikes are allowed on bike paths. However, local governments have the authority to restrict the use of e-bikes on bike paths. When in doubt, check with your town, city, or county for local rules and regulations
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.