How does Oklahoma define what an electric bike is?
The state of Oklahoma (OK) defines electric bikes as a bicycle that has two or three fully functional pedals equipped with a motor that does not exceed 1000W and is designed with a maximum speed of 20mph and is incapable of further the speed more than 20mph with human power assist.
Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Oklahoma?
The state of Oklahoma requires that electric bike riders be at least 16 years old and posses any class of license. A motorcycle license is not required. Registration is not required.
What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Oklahoma?
The power output of the motor of the ebike can't exceed 1000w.
Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Oklahoma?
Riders should be at least 16 years old.
What are the laws around helmets in Oklahoma?
Helmets are required for all riders under the age of 18.
What are the rules for riding on the road in Oklahoma?
Electric bicycles are permitted to go where traditional bikes are allowed.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.
Oklahoma Department of Motor Vehicles
Oklahoma Bicycle Society