Massachusetts State Electric Bike Laws

Massachusetts State Electric Bike Laws

How does Massachusetts define what an electric bike is?

The state of Massachusetts (MA) defines electric bikes as a pedal bicycle with a helper motor or a non-pedal bicycle with a motor, with a cylinder capacity not exceeding 50 cc, an automatic transmission, and which is capable of a maximum speed of no more than 30 mph.

Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Massachusetts?

The state of Massachusetts does NOT require electric bikes to be registered if they meet the definition of a “low-speed electric bicycle” under Federal law (i.e., the bike must have 2-3 wheels, fully operable pedals, an electric motor of less than 750 watts, and a maximum speed of 20 mph when powered solely by the motor).

What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Massachusetts?

A motorized bicycle shall not be operated upon any way at a speed higher than 25 mph.

Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Massachusetts?

You need to be 16 or older to ride an ebike in Massachusetts. 

What are the laws around helmets in Massachusetts?

Any person operating and motorized devices, including electric bikes, must be wearing a helmet.

What are the rules for riding on the road in Massachusetts?

Electric bikes may ride on all public ways except express state highways where signs specifically prohibiting bicycles have been posted. Electric bikes may be operated in bike lanes but are excluded from off-street recreational bicycle paths.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.

Source:

Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles
Massachusetts State Legislature