How does Rhode Island define what an electric bike is?
According to the state of Rhode Island, a “motorized bicycle” means a two-wheel vehicle which may be propelled by human power or helper motor, or by both, with a motor rated not more than 4 and 4.9 horsepower and not greater than 50 cc, that are capable of maximum speed of not more than 30 mph,
Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Rhode Island?
The state of Rhode Island does not require license or registration.
What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Rhode Island?
E-bikes are defined as “electric motorized bicycles", vehicles with a power output no greater than 1,491w, a maximum speed of 25mph and fully operable pedals.
Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Rhode Island?
There aren't age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Rhode Island.
What are the laws around helmets in Rhode Island?
Helmets are not required for bicycle riders.
What are the rules for riding on the road in Rhode Island?
E-bikes are subject to the rules of the road that apply to “vehicles.”
State law does not specifically address whether e-bikes are allowed on bike paths. Consult your local authority or agency for information about whether e-bikes are permitted on bike paths.
What are the rules for riding on the trails in Rhode Island?
The Rhode Island Division of Planning and Development currently does not allow e-bikes on division trails. Contact the department for the most up to date information.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.
Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicles
Rhode Island Department of Revenue
Rhode Island Bicycle Commuter Guide