How does Alaska state define what an electric bike is?
The state of Alaska (AK) defined electric bikes as any vehicle with two or three wheels and a saddle that has a motor less than 750w and fully operational pedals.
Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Alaska?
The state of Alaska requires electric bike riders to obtain at least a level M2 permit to ride. Riders must be at least 14 years old and have a parent or guardian’s permission to obtain the M2 permit. Any rider over the age of 16 can ride an electric bike with an M1 or M3 license as long as the rider has had an instruction permit for 6 months prior to being licensed.
What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Alaska?
There are no restrictions on motor power or throttle in Alaska.
Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Alaska?
If you are 14 or 15 years old, Alaska requires a special permit and you need parental consent to apply for it. This permit will allow you to ride a motor-driven cycle with an engine displacement of less than 50cc.
What are the laws around helmets in Alaska?
Alaska State Laws establish that anyone riding an electric bike upon a public roadway must wear a protective helmet that complies with standards of the United States American National Standard Institute Safety, the United States Motor Vehicle Safety Standard
What are the rules for riding on the road in Alaska?
Electric bikes may ride on roadways, paths and sidewalks unless it is specifically posted to exclude bicycles.
You can't overtake and pass another vehicle in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken. You can't drive between adjacent lanes or lines of traffic, or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.