How does Texas define what an electric bike is?
The state of Texas defines electric bikes as an electric assisted bicycle equipped with a motor of less than 750w. Electric bikes are classified as:
- Class 1: electric bikes equipped with a pedal-assist only motor which stops when the bike reaches 20 mph.
- Class 2: electric bikes equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to propel the bicycle and stop when the bike reaches the speed of 20 mph.
- Class 3: electric bikes equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and stops when the rider stops pedaling or when the bicycle reaches the speed of 28 mph.
Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Texas?
The state of Texas does not have licensing and registration requirements for electric bikes.
What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Texas?
The state of Texas determines that e-bikes must have a motor of less than 750w.
Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Texas?
No person under the age of 15 years can operate a class 3 electric bike, unless they are riding as a passenger.
What are the laws around helmets in Texas?
Helmets are required for bike riders undder18 years old.
What are the rules for riding on the road in Texas?
Electric bikes are allowed on all roadways as far right as practicable except when making a left turn. Electric bikes are allowed on bike paths and trails unless posted otherwise.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of eBikes in your area. Electric bikes are prohibited on sidewalks.