New Jersey State Electric Bike Laws

New Jersey State Electric Bike Laws

How does New Jersey define what an electric bike is?

New Jersey designates two classes of low-speed electric bicycles: Class 1: Bicycle equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph. 

Class 2: Bicycle equipped with a throttle-actuated motor, and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph.

Class 1 and 2 ebikes are not subject to the registration, licensing or insurance requirements that apply to motor vehicles.

Class 1 and 2 ebikes may ride on bicycle paths. A local government can restrict where class 1 and 2 e-bikes are allowed to ride. When in doubt, check local rules and regulations.

Bicycles cannot be operated on a sidewalk intended for pedestrian use, except if expressly allowed.

NEW JERSEY’S CLASS 3 EBIKE LAW FOR THE ROAD

Class 3 ebikes are defined as motorized bicycles.

A motorized bicycle is not subject to the same rules of the road as traditional bicycles. There is a 15 year age minimum for motorized bicycle use. Motorized bicycle riders must carry an operator’s license and are subject to registration and insurance requirements

Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in New Jersey?

To be able to drive an electric bike you must be at least 15 years old.

What are the laws around helmets in New Jersey?

Helmets are required for all riders.

What are the rules for riding on the road in New Jersey?

Electric bicycles may be ridden on roadways in New Jersey by state law. Electric bikes may be ridden on bicycle paths, but must yield to all pedestrian traffic.

Electric bikes must be ridden on the right side of the road. 

Ebikes are not allowed on Interstate highways, four-lane highways divided by a grass or concrete median; highways with a speed limit over 50 mph; railroads or rights-of-way of operating railroads; any public lands prohibited by a governing body; and sidewalks.

Additional Notes: 

New Jersey State law also requires your electric bike to have:

  • A white front headlamp and red rear taillight capable of being seen under normal conditions from at least 500 feet. These lights must be used between sunset and sunrise, or anytime bad weather makes it hard to see up to 500 feet.
  • A bell or horn (but not a siren or whistle) that can be heard 100 feet away.
  • Enough braking power to make the wheels skid on dry, clean, level pavement.
  • The headlight must be on during time of operation without exception.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.

Source:

New Jersey Bike and Pedestrian