How does New Hampshire define what an electric bike is?
The state of New Hampshire (NH) defines electric bikes as any motor-driven cycle whose speed attainable in one mile is less than 20mph. The cycle must have functional pedals and a motor that has less than 750W.
Do you need a license, insurance or registration in New Hampshire?
The state of New Hampshire does not require license or registration of electric bicycles. Electric bike riders must be at least 14 years of age.
What are the laws around helmets in New Hampshire?
Helmets are required for all riders under 16 years of age.
What are the rules for riding on the road in New Hampshire?
Electric bicycles may be ridden on roadways where the posted speed limit is less than the travelling speed of the device. Riders must remain as far right as practical, except when making a left-hand turn. Electric bikes are allowed on bicycle paths unless specifically posted otherwise.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.