How does Minnesota define what an electric bike is?
The state of Minnesota (MN) classifies electric bikes as a subset of bicycles. Electric bikes must have a saddle and operational pedals. The electric motor may not exceed 1000W and the motor must disengage when the brake is applied. The maximum speed is 20mph whether assisted by human power or not. If electric bike is operated during night hours it must be equipped with front white and rear red flashing lamps.
Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Minnesota?
Minnesota law does not require licensing or registration of electric bikes. Persons aged 15 years and older may operate an electric bike.
What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Minnesota?
The state of Minnesota determines that ebikes must have a motor of less than 1000w.
Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Minnesota?
No person under the age of 15 years can operate an electric bike.
What are the laws around helmets in Minnesota?
Minnesota does require helmets for electric bikes.
What are the rules for riding on the road in Minnesota?
Electric bikes maybe used on road shoulders, bicycle trails, bicycle paths and in bicycle lanes.
What are the rules for riding on the trails in Minnesota?
Paths maintained by the Department of Natural Resources is authorized to restrict electric bike use.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.