How does Louisiana define what an electric bike is?
The state of Louisiana (LA) defines electric bikes as a motorized bicycle with pedals and propelled by human power with a helper motor or both. The motor must be rated no more than 50cc, have an automatic transmission and designed to have a maximum speed of not more than 25mph on flat surface.
Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Louisiana?
The state of Louisiana states that you need a driver's license to operate an electric bike over 5 horsepowers.
What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Louisiana?
The motor must be rated no more than 50cc, have an automatic transmission and designed to have a maximum speed of not more than 25mph on flat surface.
Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Louisiana?
The state of Louisiana has defined that you need to be 15 or older to ride an electric bike.
What are the laws around helmets in Louisiana?
Any person under the age of 18 must wear a helmet. Persons above 18 years of age that choose to not wear a helmet must be covered by health insurance with medical benefits of at least $10,000 and must furnish proof to any law enforcement officer that requests it.
What are the rules for riding on the road in Louisiana?
Electric bike may be operated on roadways as far right as is practical except when making a left hand turn. Electric bikes are allowed on riding paths unless posted otherwise.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.