Iowa State Electric Bike Laws

Iowa State Electric Bike Laws

How does Iowa define what an electric bike is?

The state of Iowa defines an electric bike as any device that has a saddle and fully operational pedals and an electric motor of less than 750W. The maximum allowed speed on a flat, level surface when powered solely by the motor is 20mph. Electric bikes are classified as:

  • Class 1: eBikes equipped with a pedal-assist only motor which stops when the bike reaches 20 mph.
  • Class 2: Electric bikes equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to propel the bicycle and stop when the bike reaches the speed of 20 mph.
  • Class 3: Electric bicycles equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and stops when the rider stops pedaling or when the bicycle reaches the speed of 28 mph.

Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Iowa?

Iowa law does not require licensing or registration of electric bikes.

What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Iowa?

The state of Iowa determines that ebikes must have a motor of less than 750w.

Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Iowa?

No person under the age of 16 years can operate a class 3 electric bike, unless they are riding as a passenger.

What are the laws around helmets in Iowa?

Iowa does not have any helmet laws.

What are the rules for riding on the road in Iowa?

Electric bikes may use roadways, bike lanes and bike paths.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.

Source:

Iowa Department of Transportation
Iowa Legislature