Illinois State Electric Bike Laws

Illinois State Electric Bike Laws

How does Illinois define what an electric bike is?

The state of Illinois defines ebikes as an electric assisted bicycle equipped with a motor of less than 750w. Electric bikes are classified as:

  • Class 1: eBikes equipped with a pedal-assist only motor which stops when the bike reaches 20 mph.
  • Class 2: Electric bikes equipped with a motor that may be used exclusively to propel the bicycle and stop when the bike reaches the speed of 20 mph.
  • Class 3: Electric bicycles equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling and stops when the rider stops pedaling or when the bicycle reaches the speed of 28 mph.

Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Illinois?

Illinois law requires registration of electric bikes. 

What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Illinois?

The state of Illinois states that the motor of an electric bike can't exceed 750w.

Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Illinois?

A person may operate a Class electric bicycle only if he or she is 16 years. A person who is less than 16 years, can only ride as a passenger.

What are the laws around helmets in Illinois?

Illinois does not have any helmet laws.

What are the rules for riding on the road in Illinois?

Electric bikes are prohibited from sidewalks. Electric bikes may use marked bike paths and lanes. Electric bikes may use the right lane in roadways.

Disclaimer:

Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.

Source:

Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT)