How does Hawaii define what an electric bike is?
An e-bike is defined as a “low-speed electric bicycle” whose assisted maximum speed on a paved level surface, when powered solely by such a motor, is less than 20 mph.
Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Hawaii?
E-bike owners are required to be registered and pay a fee of $30 at any city hall satellite location or the state business registration unit in Honolulu. You must at least 18 years old to register
What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Hawaii?
The state of Hawaii does not have any restrictions on motor power or throttle for electric bikes.
Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Hawaii?
Persons 15 years and older may operate an e-bike if it is registered to a household member
What are the laws around helmets in Hawaii?
Helmets are required for anyone under the age of 16.
What are the rules for riding on the road in Hawaii?
E-bikes are allowed everywhere a bike is allowed, including bike paths.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.