How does Arizona define what an electric bike is?
Arizona designates three classes of e-bikes:
Class 1: Bicycle equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph.
Class 2: Bicycle equipped with a throttle-actuated motor, that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 20 mph.
Class 3: Bicycle equipped with a motor that provides assistance only when the rider is pedaling, and that ceases to provide assistance when the e-bike reaches 28 mph.
Do you need a license, insurance or registration in Arizona?
Electric bikes are not required to be licensed or registered, however all bike operators must carry identification with them. Electric bikes exceeding 25 mph require a class M license.
What are the restrictions on Motor power or throttle in Arizona?
Any motored cycle equipped with an electric motor over 750 watts is no longer considered an ebike.
Are there any age restrictions to riding an electric bike in Arizona?
There are no age restrictions specified in the Arizona State Electric Bike Laws.
What are the laws around helmets in Arizona?
Arizona does not have any helmet laws.
What are the rules for riding on the road in Arizona?
By Arizona state law, electric bikes are authorized to ride in any bike lanes and on bike paths. Electric bikes that operated at speeds of at least 20 mph but no more than 25 mph may be registered for legal use on roadways as a mophed.
Laws and policies can change at any time rendering the above information outdated and non-applicable. EVELO strongly encourages checking with City, County, State and other local agencies for the most recent laws governing the proper, legal use of electric bicycles in your area.